Short Film Night

The first time I arrived at Kim Ann’s Short Film Night at the Sandy Valley Public Library, I knew I wanted to make a micro-documentary about it.  This branch library is located at the farthest reaches of the county from the central library; it’s facility is shared with a beauty salon.  When I read that they were showing short films, I decided to drive down.

The further I got from town, the more curious I became.  Would trendy hipsters clad in black travel so far from a Starbucks to injest this hippest of indie film genres?

When I arrived in the back room, it seemed much more like I had arrived at a church potluck.  The majority of the people in the audience were people from right here in this little community.  NOW I didn’t know what kind of films to expect!  Surely not the fare I had hoped to find.  Surely not the artistic gems and nuggets that usually only found viewing audiences at film festivals?Screen shot 2013-02-14 at 6.26.20 PM

After the final short film had screened, but before my amazement at seeing great short films (curated from all over the world and from the best filmmakers making shorts) had settled into a regular breathing pattern, a great conversation started.  This audience had watched many many films and had great taste and a great ability to articulate meanings and pleasures from the films.

I realized that all the red state stereotypes that had even informed my assumptions were getting popped faster than the popcorn in the big popcorn machine that was perched at the side of the room, next to the brownies, punch and home-made cookies that had been brought by Kim Ann, the innovative and imaginative visionary founder of this event, gathering and group.

Screen shot 2013-02-14 at 6.25.59 PM

You can watch the film here:

Sandy Valley Independent Short Film Night Hosted by Kim Ann from Reelate on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

